Personal

If I Could Come…

flowers-in-the-sun

This is one of those situations where I wish I was 10 hours closer to home….then I could be there. I was in the process of looking up flowers to send, but to get anything half decent and pretty, you’re going to spend $50 which just isn’t logical. I hate not being available to take a Panera dinner or go to Kroger to get groceries for my grandma, but I physically can’t be there.

When you’ve been a caretaker for over a year, you understand the need for your presence to continue even after you’ve moved away. Today is just hard, because I want to be there for her. She loves mail, so a card will be in the mail for sure, but I know my presence means more. Trying to get my sister to go over there seems to be something she doesn’t quite understand.

Today I emphasize with all the others who want to be with their loved one but cannot. I was happy to hear that everyone was kind at the hospital; at least their kindness made it better.

Leave a Reply

